8 Limbs of Yoga

In his classical work, The Yoga Sutras, Patanjali collated, coordinated, and systematized the Vedic Indian philosophy of raising mental and physical vibration.

Patanjali lists these eight limbs or stages in his system for achieving the ultimate highest vibration of life in the book.

1) Yama, universal moral commands;
2), Niyama, self-purification by discipline ;
3 ) Asana, postures;
4) Pranayama, the rhythmic act of controlled breathing;
5) Pratyahara, withdrawal of sense;
6) Dharana, concentration;
7) Dhyan, mediation;
8) Samadhi, self-immolation

The Bhagavad, the most important authority on Yoga philosophy, teaches Sri Krishna’s definition of Yoga as deliverance from pain. It says: “When his mind (manas), intellect (buddhi) and self are under control; freed from restless desire so that they rest in him – then only he becomes Yukata – a one in communion with God.”



Transform Your Lifestyle Into Your Medicine – 

The Art of Living Is Encompassing Equilibrium  

“Compounding the minimal effective dose in the direction of mind/body homeostasis.”

My Personal Favorites
Get In Touch